The Urban Hunter

by natology

Speaking of lone rangers wearing cowboy hats in rugged landscapes shot vertically, the Richard Prince exhibition reminded me a lot of my friend David Tamargo’s Urban Hunter. David and I went to school together, and I will forever be a fan of the way this guy can shoot a landscape. Long exposures, Leica 35mm film, color and dark rooms made David the artist he is today. I’m happy to see such a strong correlation between his recent work and that of Prince’s. Not that it surprises me, but it’s always inspiring to see these types of connections. They’ve got their finger on the pulse of something, and I think David’s got a good story to tell.

Urban Hunting is the bigger picture, it focuses on creating and documenting situational fantasy where Tamargo and his characters hunt/interact with man-made animal sculptures found in urban environments. The Urban Hunter focuses on the main character of the story. He’s shot vertically and almost identical in composition as Richard Prince’s Cowboys. There’s an interesting similarity between the two, including an element that inspires fashion. I’m working with David on an editorial series, which we’ll be releasing later this year. If friends are a reflection of who we are and how we think, then I couldn’t be more honored to be a friend and a fan. I’ll leave you with his perspective on Urban Hunting and a taste of his work. Pay attention to the composition, lighting, color and saturation in his night shots. There’s a whole lot of magic happening in there.